Philly Cheesesteak Pizza–from scratch.

Last night K and I were really craving pizza.  The only meat we had in the fridge was some korean sliced steak, but I couldn’t stomach any more bulgogi.  I searched up recipes on what I could cook with it, immediately I got results for Philly Cheesesteak.

There was no bread in the kitchen.  But we did have yeast, and we had bread flour.

Thus, the philly cheesesteak pizza–from scratch, was born.

I mixed up an easy recipe for pizza crust, and as the dough was rising I prepared the toppings in a pan.  Green peppers, red onions, mushrooms, tons of black pepper to season, and of course, steak.

P8161339.jpgAfter everything seemed cooked “enough” to me, I seared and shrunk a package of mushrooms. Then I rolled out the dough on a floured pizza pan, added a thin layer of canned alfredo sauce as a base and layered some provolone cheese. P8161456.jpg A bit skeptical at this point… I wasn’t sure how the pizza would look after baking or if it would hold. Mozzarella to glue the ingredients together…   P8161472.jpg After 15 short minutes in a 450 degree oven… done!   P8161504.jpg

So delicious!  And cooked thoroughly!  I made sure to shred the steak with my hands so that things wouldn’t get “stringy” between bites.   This was a weird pizza I would make again.

Leave a Reply

